231-924-8700 616-458-5500
Screen Shot 2018-05-23 at 12.06.04 PM
Screen Shot 2018-05-23 at 12.06.14 PM

Great Counsel for DUI

Gary and team were wonderful to work with, set very realistic expectations early on, and provided great advice. They kept me out of jail while charged with High BAC with an accident, in my case that was by no means an easy task. I can’t thank him and the firm enough.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

Life Lessons 101

I recently had the misfortune of learning the following lessons the hard way. Had I been convicted I was facing Life plus 15 years and 93 days and a ton of fines. Luckily I found Gary K. Springstead just in the nick of time and he was able to advocate for me and get the charges reduced down to a plea that puts me on 1 year of felony probation and 2 years of misdemeanor probation with felony being dismissed upon completion of probation. 1. Sometimes the people we love the most will hurt us the worst. 2. Do NOT ever under any circumstances talk to the cops about anything ever! 3. Local attorneys in small ponds can be a greater detriment than an asset. 4. When your life is one the line money doesn’t matter. 5. The system is brutal and brutally unfair and biased. Once they get their teeth in you they won’t just let go. 6. Very few people or attorneys really care about your plight. 7. You personally have no voice in the system 8. You need someone special with an extensive knowledge of the law that is willing to learn the details of your particular case and fight for you as you would for yourself. 9. Do not hesitate to call Gary. The minute you find out you have a problem, spare yourself the mistake of hiring a less competent attorney, hire Gary immediately and watch him start to use his extensive knowledge of the law to help undue your situation. I found him right here on AVVO after hiring a different attorney first. I’m really glad I did! I’m convinced that he did as good or better for me than anyone else could. The previous 102 reviews are accurate and truthful. As far as I’m concerned he is the BEST attorney around. He saved my life!!! Thank you very much Gary – I appreciate all you did for me.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by Steve 

Early release from HYDA probation for medical reasons

Gary Springstead just recently helped me get off of HYDA probation and the registry early so that I can get to a foreign country to receive extra care not available in the US for my cancer diagnosis. My probation and accompanying agent were being strict about allowing me to leave the country while on probation, despite the worthy reasons, so I contacted Gary about the situation. He understood fully what I was asking, and explained to me our next steps in way I was able to understand. He was able to secure an early release from HYDA probation for me so that I am able to continue my treatments. He was my original attorney, as well — and has been the most helpful and straightfoward attorney to deal with. If you need any help with any sort of criminal legal advice or representation, Gary Springstead is the only choice I would recommend. He and his team work incredibly hard to make sure that you get the best representation and best results possible. Thanks to him, I will now be able to get the care that I require — and it wouldn’t have been possible otherwise. Thank you, Gary!

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

Accidental illegal entry

Gary was actually my 3rd attorney in this matter. I felt the most comfortable talking with him. He was even kind enough to lower the price because I had let him know how much I had paid the other attorneys. What happened was I had been at the bar drinking. I left the bar to walk to my girlfriends house which was only 7 blocks away, and I ended up walking into the wrong house due to my level of intoxication. The prosecutor wanted me to spend 60 days in jail, then then it was lowered to 30 with work release. I went to sentencing expecting to get 30 days in jail, but the judge gave me 90 days with and alcohol tether instead. Gary was able to convince them that it was alcohol thats was the issue not criminal intent. It was an honest mistake and he was able to prove it. He was able to keep me out of jail and I was happy with his service. Also we both drive Audis so I knew it was meant to be 🙂

Rating: 5/5

Posted by Tom 

Educator

As one of Gary’s clients, i witnessed his extensive knowledge of the law, high level of integrity, large network and aggressive style of defense. I have a great deal of confidence in his ability and highly recommend him.

Rating: 5/5
Posted by Jeff
March 20, 2018

Two felony accounts of R&O DISMISSED!

I’d like to start off by saying that Gary did an amazing job… From the start his firm made me comfortable from the office staff to the courtroom. They are all very polite and it is clear that their number 1 priority is to make you feel like your in good hands. My case didn’t even make it past the probable cause hearing… Gary was able to get both felony charges dismissed. That speaks for itself… If your looking for an attorney to not only represent you but to actually care about the outcome of the case hire Gary Springstead. When it comes to your life, future, and reputation hire the best.

Thanks Gary this was the best outcome for my family.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

Simply Amazing

I hired Gary to help me with my felony drug charge. I was facing 20 years maximum and over $25,000 and he got me a diversion plan that places me on 12 months probo with no jail time. I couldn’t be more happy with these results and owe my life to Mr Gary Springstead. I highly recommend you retain him for any case as he will do everything in his power to help save your life. Thank you so much Gary.

5.0 stars

Posted by anonymous 

Very good

I hired Gary to help me with a disorderly person charge. He was very professional and helped me to understand the various issues and consequences. He talked with the judge and after community service I was all set. I am very happy with the results.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

Initial Consult

Gary responding within minutes to a text message over the weekend for an initial consult. We set up a call the next day and an in-person meeting the following day. Gary was very down to earth and knowledgeable on the investigation process and likely outcome. I would gladly recommend to a friend. 

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

Excellent attorney

I retained Mr. Bartish for his services and he was successful in getting my family member acquitted of a very serious charge, and was released after two years in jail awaiting the trial. Mr. Bartish was brilliant in court. He was great in communication, billing charges, expectations regarding outcome and appropriately sensitive to the emotional factors involved regarding the case. Finding Mr. Bartish and retaining his expertise got my family member acquitted and the freedom to start anew. It was the best decision we could have made and best outcome possible! My family will be forever grateful for his hard work and great job!

Rating: 5/5

Posted by Diane 

Restoring justice, one case at a time.

At 11 years old. I was WRONGFULLY convicted of a sex offense that ruined the next 20 years of my life as it was a permanent offense in the state of Michigan. I had lost all hope. Then one day I got a call from Mike Bartish saying my mom had filled him in on my situation. Mike went WAY out of his way, staying up to the wee hours of the morning to take my calls, and help me work on my case (for WAY less than he should have charged) and for the first time since my trial, I had hope. In less than 2 months, I no longer have a felony on my record, and do not have to register as a sex offender, that I never really was. The words THANK YOU, will never express my gratitude. You gave me a chance to be a great father, husband, and man, I won’t ruin this chance.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

Dismissed charges at Pretrial

I hired Mr. Bartish the day before my pretrial because I was unsure what to expect or what to do. Mr. Bartish handled everything on my behalf. He accomplished the ‘almost impossible’ on my Domestic Violence case by getting it immediately dismissed at pretrial. The nightmare I was going through was over thanks to him. He treated me and my family with respect and true concern. I definitely recommend him to anyone who needs or think they may need help.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

Many thanks to Mike and Chasity

Mike is a very disciplined, intelligent and experienced Grand Rapids attorney. He was great at explaining the range of possible outcomes and the uncertainty with the legal system. He presented my somewhat bizarre case (UWI + UDAA) in the best possible light. While my penalties are tough and expensive, they are certainly not as bad as I probably deserved. Mike obviously has a great reputation and rapport with the judges, prosecutors and police officials in his district. I can’t stress enough how important this can be for your case. My review would not be complete without mentioning Chasity is fantastic as well. She keeps you up to date with schedule changes and is in constant contact with Mike to answer your questions and keep you calm. Thanks again for all your help!!

Rating: 5/5

Posted by Charles 

Review for Mike Bartish

I hired Mike to represent me when facing charges in Michigan that related and incident that occurred when I was traveling there on business. Mike believed that he could have me avoid returning to Michigan for court and that he could successfully have my charges reduced to the minimum which was a careless driving ticket in my case. Mike delivered on his word as he executed his plan for my case flawlessly. I would highly recommend Mike Bartish to anyone who was looking for legal representation in Michigan.

Rating: 5/5
Posted by Kyle
January 27, 2018

First time I’ve been through this

Mike was great. My situation was unique… without getting too specific I blew a .08 and unfortunately lost the career that I had been working for. Mike was the first attorney I called. When I called I explained exactaly what happened and he was honest. He told me what I should do and then said “to be honest, I think you could save your money and not hire me, I don’t think you need it.” I talked to 5-6 other attorneys and he was the only one who said that. I called him back and hired him. I didn’t want to do this alone. Not only was he honest with everything he made me feel confident that everything would be okay. I’m almost 28 and have never been in any trouble before. He was always available via text or phone call. I was able to get my charge down to impaired with no probation or community service. Just the fines and mandatory license restriction. Thank you, Michael!

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

Criminal Defense

I hired Mike to defend my daughter who had just started school at GVSU. Mike was always prepared, seasoned, professional, and had my daughter’s best interest in mind at all times. Mike kept me apprised of every detail of my daughter’s case, being that I was in Florida and couldn’t be with her. Mike made my daughter feel comfortable and taken care of, which is important when your child is away at school and a legal matter arises. My daughter would tell me how respected Mike was at the courthouse, and that he was the best dressed lawyer there. We were happy with the results. I would recommend Mike Bartish as an advocate and would count on him to fight for you.

5.0 stars

Posted by Lisa 

Forever Thankful for Mike and Chasity!

I needed a lawyer for my brother. He suffers from PSTD, which had gone untreated for a while, and lead him to have legal issues. Our entire family lives in Texas. We have never been to Michigan, so I had no idea where to start. After calling several law offices and basically feeling hopeless, I said a prayer and chose Mike’s number. Chasity took my call and was beyond helpful . She was a blessing. She listened, calmed me down and was extremely helpful. Words will never express how she helped me during this process. She assured me Mike would help me and if he couldn’t, he would make sure he referred me to the right person. She was right. From day 1 till the end, Mike went above and beyond in helping us and even took calls/messages at any hour. He helped our family during a difficult time. He encouraged my brother to take the steps needed to address his underlying issue for his recovery. During this difficult time, hiring Mike and his staff was the best thing I could’ve done. Our results couldn’t have been better. My brother has a second chance to live a good life. For that I will always be grateful. Thank you Mike and Chasity. May God bless you always.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

Mike Saved My Son's Life

I came to Mike at a time when my son’s life was out of control. My son is an amazing young man with so many gifts, but he had allowed drugs to enter his life and drugs became more important than his future. Mike was honest with my son about where his life was headed, but also believed in my son and made the commitment to fight to help him make a new life for himself. Mike listened to me, as the mother, about what I wanted to help my son because I knew this was his last chance to make a change or his future was bleak. Mike never made any promises or sugarcoated the possible outcome, rather he was honest with my son and our family and guided us through the entire process. Mike worked hard with the prosecutor and judge to help them understand who my son “really was” and the bad choices he had made did not define him. Rather, with the right help and assistance, my son might have the life where he could make a contribution to society. I am happy to report that my son was given the second chance he needed and completed 90-days of rehab. His outlook on life has completely changed and he has decided to spend his life helping others in rehab and become a Registered Behavior Therapist.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

Compassionate and Knowledgeable

We had primarily been in contact with another attorney at Kathy’s firm. When he was not able to attend our initial hearing, Kathy stepped in to help. From that moment on, she was often times our go to person to ask questions. Each time we reached out to her, she was patient, kind, understanding, and knowledgeable. My son and I were extremely nervous throughout this process and I don’t know what we would have done without Kathy. She knows her facts and expresses them in a way that is easily understood. I would highly recommend her!

Rating: 5/5

Posted by Kathie

Kathryn Springstead helped me get off of HYDA probation early for medical reasons

Kathryn Springstead was able to help me get off of HYDA probation and the registry early so that I could pursue cancer treatments not available in the United Stated. Per the probation guidelines, I was not allowed to leave the country, even though my reasons for doing so were worthy. I was able to explain this to Kathryn and her team and she helped me to get off of HYDA probation early, so that I can pursue that treatment and start to feel better. Without her help, I may have never gotten this treatment, which I desperately needed. If you’re in need of any kind of criminal defense help, I fully and wholeheartedly recommend Kathryn Springstead. She will fight for your rights and for the best possible outcome for you and your case. Thank you, Kathryn!

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

Life Saver

Kathy was great, and a life saver and negotiated a great plea agreement for me in a serious matter where jail time was possible. She advised me throughout the entire process and fought for me with the court every step of the way. She kept me out of jail, and able to continue to work.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

Highly recommend!

We chose the Springstead Law Firm because of the fine reputation they had in the area. Our son had serious charges against him far from home. Kathy Springstead guided us through the legal process not letting us get to far ahead. In this uncertain time, she not only represented our son but comforted us as parents as our anxieties rose. Navigating us through it all, investigating legal avenues and always communicating the risks and benefits. We had a very lengthy legal process and her legal expertise combined with a heart of gold gave us peace during a time of distress. We highly recommend her. She was able to negotiate a very good outcome that will give him a second chance at his life.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

One strong attorney

When I hired the Springstead’s I was scared of going to jail. I only spent an hour there, with Kathy at my side for most of it. I’ve been on probation for a yr now but it beats jail by far. Professional, affordable, compassionate people. Thank you so much for giving me my life back.

Rating: 5/5
Posted by Rosa
February 25, 2017

Informed and Stalwart

Having never dealt with law enforcement or the judicial system before, I was very unaware of the process and how I’d incriminated myself for the alleged crime I was being charged with. From my first time calling their office, the Springsteads made me feel at ease and knew how to handle my case. Right off the bat Gary explained that the prosecutors and forthcoming procedures could be frustrating, saying, “I know you want this part of your life to be over with quickly, but sometimes it takes some time and energy to work with the system to get you what you want. Ultimately, taking that time will be worth it.” He was right. After meeting Kathy I immediately felt she was very informed, not only about my specific case but also with the legal actions we could take to prove my innocence and get the outcome I was looking for. Although a complicated matter and the prosecutor being quite staunch with my charge, Kathy kept me informed every time I had a concern or question over the phone, email and text. Eventually we were forced to file a motion to get in front of the judge and Kathy took great care with her preparation of documents and statements. The most remarkable part of Kathy’s work came on the day of our scheduled motion. When we arrived the prosecutor said he wanted to adjourn to a later date. Kathy worked with him in restating all the holes in their case against me and tried to work out some lesser charge. When he finally did offer a less serious misdemeanor Kathy came to me and was passionate about the prosecutor being in the wrong for making me travel four hours (after multiple trips in the pre-trail process) and not being prepared for our motion in front of the judge. Her and I decided to push further. Well, I’m not exactly sure what she said inside the prosecutor’s office but the next thing I knew they were headed into the judge’s office. Kathy worked her magic. Their meeting resulted in a simple civil infraction (nothing on my record) after Kathy presented the facts to the judge anyway and he convinced the prosecutor the case against me was not very solid. I’m so happy that she took the bull by the horns when the opportunity presented itself, but also trust that Kathy would have proven my innocence regardless or even would have gotten the case dismissed altogether if I had wanted to stick it out a little longer. Like Gary told me at the beginning, the judicial system is a curious beast and Kathy knows not only to how prepare and keep calm, but also when to strike. I’m very grateful for her services.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by Evan

Help pre-charge

If you are wondering whether or not to hire an attorney before you are even charged with a crime, you should! I was being questioned by a detective. The detective submitted his report to the prosecutor. Kathy immediately contacted the detective and the prosecutor to inform them that I was her client. I met with Kathy so that she could get more facts and then she spoke with the prosecutor and found out that there was not a case to even charge me with. I would not have been able to speak with the prosecutor myself. Kathy put our mind at ease from day one. She always kept us informed by phone calls, email, and text. Had this case gone any further, I knew that Kathy would have my back. Kathy was genuinely concerned for me. I would recommend her to anyone I know.

5.0 stars

Posted by Sarah Lower

One phone changed my life!

I was looking at possibly a second owi charge within the past 9yrs and the loss of my career and house were at stake. I first hired a lawyer out of panic and without doing my homework. After a couple court dates and him not returning my calls and texts until days later if at all. I started to worry if he even cared. When I finally talked to him he pretty much was saying to take the first plea. A plea I could have gotten on my own. I listened to my gut and decided to research the best lawyers around what was at stake was to important! I found Gary and Kathy Springstead and liked what I saw. The reviews I read about them were spot on. After hiring them it was like night and day between them and my previous attorney. All my questions were answered, all my calls and texts were returned. I actually felt reassured they were there to help me. Gave me a good peace of mind that I hadn’t felt or had sense the arrest. After reviewing my case the police report and surveillance video. I was told by them I had a case worth fighting. We filed a motion for dismissal. They were able to find that the officer didn’t conduct any of the test properly and the actual stop didn’t have probable cause. Kathy ended up writing out in extreme detail a 28 page motion listing everything down to the second. Over 5 months from the time it occurred here I am. I took a plea to a very minor misomeanor just to surface the court to think they won something for doing their job incorrectly. But no jail no fines no probation and kept my CDL and all driving privileges! I couldn’t be happier well worth every penny. Making that phone call to Gary and Kathy I know changed my life/future I would highly recommend them!!

Rating: 5/5

Posted by Adam 

DUI 2 defense

Kathryn and Gary took my case and I was looking at an OWI 2, because of an offense that happened to me 8 years ago. To give a little background during my first offense, I was 21 coming off a combat deployment with the U.S. Army and local cops (not fond of military) hauled me away for sleeping off a night of drinking in my truck with the heat on, in the dead of winter in a parking lot. I had over 50 people vouch for my character but I hired a terrible lawyer and ended up with an impaired driving. Since in Michigan a new law was passed that doesn’t clear your record of any alcohol related offense anymore, I was looking at an OWI 2, which are some pretty serious charges. I felt I was wrongly charged and being taken advantage of. I did a little research and found the Springstead law firm in Fremont. After going in for a consultation I was sold as soon as Gary gave me his outlook on my case. Once the process began, Gary’s wife (Kathy Springstead) was with me through the whole process. She kept me well informed and relatively stress-free. Once the hearings began, Kathy and Gary did their homework and made the prosecution look like fools, which was justly so. The end result was a civil fraction with no points on my license. Considering I drive company vehicles for my work, I was extremely pleased! Now I’m able to work, learn from my mistakes, and not have to sacrifice my career for offenses charged by an officer clearly having a bad night, looking to smear the driving record of anyone driving his way.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

Pure Class....

Mr. Borgula is Everything that all of the other 5 star ratings say about him! He is a Real individual. Compassionate, attentive, generous, down-to-earth, intelligent, realistic, honest….. Pure Class!!

Have never had such a wonderful experience with a lawyer. If all were like him – the world would be a better place 🙂

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

Excellent Representation

Matthew is a excellent attorney always friendly and very honest and upfront wit us from day one. My wife was facing some very difficult charges and Matt and his team when straight to work, was able to resolve my wife case and was able to get her sentenced significantly lower than the guidelines, we are very thankful for the aggressive representation you and your firm provide us with. We are thankful Matt

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

Hire him!

Matt and his team handled my case with professionalism and a fantastic bed side manner. I was extremely nervous when I first contacted Matt. He explained everything to me in simple terms that went a long way in calming my nerves. On our first court date Matt had basically handled my case and got it reduced to a ticket. I could not ask for better then that but on the second court date he even got the ticket reduced from a three points to two. If I ever get in a legal snag again Matt will be the first person I call. Thanks Matt and Chasity! Great job!

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

Awesome!!!!!

Matthew Borgula has been a blessing to me and my family! He’s awesome! Matt’s honest, trustworthy, and compassionate. Over time he had the opportunity to know me and my family and dear to our hearts. Matt’s genuine. …I appreciate him because I felt safe. He took his time listening to me (never hurried), explained
processes, promptly returned my phone calls and emails. Matt has a vast amount of experience! He’s a very professional and competent attorney. He was punctually prepared for every court hearing. I’d also like to add his disposition in court to be unyielding. Matt worked diligently on my case. I was facing several years and my sentence was significantly reduced. I had a positive experience with Matthew Borgula!

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous

Grateful for this exceptional attorney!

I consulted Matt Borgula for advice pertaining to my brother-in-law’s case. I did not have much information at first, but Mr. Borgula was able to guide my family and me through the first steps of having someone in the criminal system. Even before having an official agreement between us, he was very attentive and available for the questions we had. This was very important because no one in my family had very much experience with the legal system. My brother-in-law was facing multiple felonies and most likely years in prison. Mr. Borgula took our case with the little amount of information we had and agreed to do what he could for my brother-in-law. Without even having met us, and only a week notice, Mr. Borgula was present at his probable cause hearing. To us it felt like he had been our lawyer forever. He kept us informed, was honest about my brother’s case, and was professional. One thing I really appreciated about Mr. Borgula’s demeanor was how he spoke to my family and me, not at us or over our heads. He took the time to pull us aside and answer any questions we had. He made sure we were all as comfortable as we could be with the situation. He never seemed rushed, and made us feel important. He was very personal and empathetic to what was happening to our family.
My brother-in-law was arrested in May and did not end up having his official court date until November. My brother-in-law had two options: to go to trial and risk the outcome, which meant seven years in prison if he lost, or taking a plea deal. Mr. Borgula was prepared and willing to go to trial if that is what he wanted. He supported either decision and did not push my brother-in-law one way or the other. My brother-in-law decided to take the plea deal and was sentenced to 1 year in jail, including time served. Mr. Borgula continued to stay in contact with my brother-in-law and my family right up until his release date.
I would recommend Mr. Borgula to anyone, and I would hire him again if necessary. He was the sound mind my family and I needed to get through our difficult time. He was professional and an outstanding person. I am so appreciative for everything he did not only for my brother-in-law, but for my entire family and me as well. Without his service, my brother-in-law faced a minimum of two years in prison for his plea deal. Mr. Borgula kept him out of prison, and got us the best outcome we could have hoped for in this situation.

Rating: 5/5
Posted by Jennifer
April 24, 2018

Excellent attorney

I hired Mr. Borgula based on his impressive resume and client reviews, and I am very glad I did. His knowledge of the system is outstanding. He was able to negotiate a deal for me and saved me from a felony charge that would have ruined my life. Mr. Borgula is straight forward, he is honest and he will not advise you to go in court if he believes you will not win. He answered to my calls and emails within minutes, and worked my deal within a week. I hope I will never need an attorney again, however if I do Mr. Borgula will be my attorney of choice.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

" A true professional "

I consulted with Matt on my sons case when he was arrested in Chicago. Matt went above and beyond what an attorney would do on a consultation. He not only gave outstanding legal advice, he contacted the authorities on my sons behalf, and followed up for two days afterward. I cannot express my gratitude enough to Matt. My son and myself will never forget Matt. He is a ” True Professional “.

5.0 stars

Posted by Marty

Best of the Best!

Matt, is the incredibly transparent about the realities of the legal process we were experiencing. His patience and concern for us as a whole was deeply appreciated. His experience is bar none the best that we could have hoped for and his team is equally amazing. There are no lawyer jokes that apply to him, because he clearly is a person of integrity and compassion and reason.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by Janet 

Bad situation, great result thanks to Matt Borgula

Mr. Borgula was not only successful in winning my case, but was also friendly and accessible by phone. The fact that he used to work in the federal court in Grand Rapids allowed me to not even have to attend a pre trial, as he worked it out in advance.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

Heath to the Rescue

I reached out to Springstead law firm after hearing about them from a friend. Once I heard they’ve been handling Electric Forest cases for years I knew they were for me. Heath went above and beyond as my attorney to not only keep me out of jail but also got me the best deal possible. He genuinely cares about his clientele and his work speaks for itself. I cannot even express how grateful I am for all of your help. I firmly believe I wouldn’t have gotten this amount of success in court if it wasn’t for someone as hardworking and intelligent as Heath Lynch.
Thank you so much, I highly recommend to anyone in trouble.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by Zachary 

Superb lawyer

I hired Heath after a recommendation of his firm by a law enforcement professional and he did not disappoint. I was charged with possession of a weapon in a sterile environment(I am a law abiding citizen with a ccw permit). Heath looked at the unique circumstances of my case and presented a very strong argument on my behalf. He was attentive and kept me well informed throughout the process. Heath was able to negotiate with the prosecutor and at every point of contact the plea became more favorable until ultimately receiving an order of “nolle prosequi” resulting in dismissal of the case without prejudice, in addition I was able to retain my ccw permit. I would highly recommend this professional in the future.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by Ed 

Excellent Lawyer

My experience and review of Heath M. Lynch and the office of Springstead Bartish & Borgula Law, PLLC. My inquiry was answered in the form of a same day call. A free thirty-minute conversation with attorney Heath M. Lynch (Which I am certain the conversation went well over the thirty minutes). During this conversation, a lot was covered in detail about my cases two retail fraud’s in the third degree with the 63rd district court and what the end result would be. Mr. Lynch was very knowledgeable and provided as much information as possible and answered all of my questions with honesty. After I inquired about my cases I decided and was convinced from my conversation with Mr. Lynch that I would be moving forward with having Mr. Lynch represent me as my attorney. I was honest with Mr. Lynch and informed him that it would take me a while to gather my finances to bring him on as my attorney as my finances were already tied up with another attorney that I paid for in full and the attorney I had refused to provide a partial refund back in any way. Mr. Lynch was very patient and professional as he waited several weeks for me to gather my finances to acquire his services. Throughout these weeks Mr. lynch kept in communication via text from his personal cellular phone just to get the status of my situation financially. I did not feel pressed at all by Mr. Lynch as no pressure was applied for me to gather the finances. Mr. Lynch followed up with me for several weeks as I gathered the finances out of genuine concern, concern that we were falling short on time as my court date was not far away and Mr. Lynch wanted to be well prepared for the cases and wanted to make sure that he provided my cases the time and attention that was required for each case. I was at a loss for words that Mr. Lynch took the time to follow up with me over the several weeks that he did as I know from experience that there are not many if any attorneys that will do such a thing and for free at that. It turned out that I was not able to come up with the finances in time I literally gathered the finances to acquire Mr. Lynch’s services a day or two before I was do in court. Mr. Lynch, however, took on my case and worked fast to have my cases arranged for a later date and time I felt relieved and thankful as I knew then that Mr. Lynch would do all that he could to better defend me in court. Now forwarding to my next court date I appeared to court but thanks to Mr. Lynch I did not have to appear in front of the judge or the prosecutor. The prosecutor at this time was attempting to make all sort of deals, of course, however, Mr. Lynch looked for several alternatives before we finally accepted something I agreed to. Mr. Lynch made sure I was getting the best sentence possible. Mr. Lynch went out of his way to make contact with several individuals to see if I could qualify for diversion programs, unfortunately, I did not qualify (No fault of Mr. Lynch) During this process Mr. Lynch was very honest and went over the information several times with me before I finally accepted. In addition, he looked out for my best interest in making sure that once I accepted a deal the terms remained the same and nothing changed verbally or in writing. My only regret at this point was not finding Mr. Lynch sooner especially since the previous attorney I hired did not do anything for me but waste my time and take my money as I was doing all of the work paying for and picking up police reports as an example further I could never get a hold of this other attorney no personal cellar phone to text like Mr. Lynch even when I would contact the office and leave messages I would not get a response I would eventually get a hold of this other attorney days later after attempting to make contact again from my end and when I would finally get a hold of this other attorney he did not have much if any information at all on my cases.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by LT 

Electric Forest

When my son found out he could be facing charges from the Electric Forest festival, we reached out to Springstead Bartish and Borgula Law. Heath returned our inquiry and was available to us on his personal cell phone from the beginning. We were in touch with him many times before we made the decision to hire him and each time he was responsive. He explained what we would be dealing with during the process and answered our many questions. Most importantly, we could not have been more pleased with the outcome of our case. This law firm claims to be knowledgeable about Electric Forest and they do not disappoint. I would highly recommend Heath for an Electric Forest case or anything else you may be facing. He will come along side you and be there for you from beginning to end. He is well connected, patient, understanding, and informed. I don’t know that anyone else would have been able to get the end result for us that he did. We couldn’t be happier.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by Kathie 

Great Defender

A family member was facing simultaneous 4-year felony and 90-day misdemeanor charges. Not knowing where to turn, we hired Mr. Lynch based on his and his firm’s strong reviews, and especially because we thought Mr. Lynch’s background as a former prosecutor and his current work as a defender would give him key insights into the prosecutor’s thinking in the case, into what kinds of deals might be possible, and into what would be required for a successful defense.

With Mr. Lynch working for us on the case, the felony charges were dropped, and the misdemeanor sentence included no jail time.

Furthermore, Mr. Lynch is a very likeable, pleasant person, clearly knows not only the details of the laws but also how the legal system itself functions, and was very easy to work with. Mr. Lynch kept our family informed about the case progress, about what to expect as work on the case continued, about usual time-lines for such cases, etc. Beyond that, Mr. Lynch fully understood the defendant’s parents’s concerns, and returned phone calls and emails, answering their questions, and explaining his strategies as the case went along. Since the parents were not actually the defendant Mr. Lynch was representing, he may well have had no legal duty to do that, but his willingness to talk to family members and to keep the family informed were deeply appreciated and important to all of us in the family.

We truly appreciate what he did, and absolutely recommend him.

Rating: 5/5
Posted by anonymous
May 24, 2018

Look no further

As Mr. Heath Lynch will probably tell you, he regularly meets his clients on one of the worst days of their life. This was certainly true in my case. I stood accused of a violent felony and was facing years in prison. Heath sat with me, took the time to understand the intricacies of my legal situation and immediately got to work pursuing several avenues of defense. As a former Federal prosecutor, Heath possessed a unique insight into not only how to properly mount a defense but into the actions of the prosecution as well. This served to make me feel much more reassured and confident as time and again, one situation after another played out exactly as he predicted it would. Heath mounted a rigorous pre-trial defense, while keeping me well-informed as to his strategy, progress, and likely counter-moves of the prosecution. At every stage of the process I was presented with options and, more importantly, explanations of those options and the consequences thereof. He exuded confidence and tranquility both in the courtroom and outside of it; had we gone to a jury trial instead of the plea deal route that I requested, he would have made a daunting opponent for the State.

Six months later, my felony charge had been reduced to a misdemeanor and instead of facing years in prison I had a maximum possible sentence of 93 days. That alone would have been a huge victory, but Heath wasn’t done just yet. As we entered the endgame stage of the case, Heath was able to wrangle a plea deal that not only would have been unthinkable at the onset of my case, but also protected me from the possibility of a civil lawsuit in the same matter. By the time we were finished, I walked away from the courtroom with a light probation sentence owing mostly to Heath’s expertise and knowledge of the criminal justice system.

I can’t imagine having to try to navigate the waters of the criminal justice system unaided by someone such as Heath; he was the Virgil to my Dante and helped me to escape the inferno of what could easily have been a life-ruining matter. Talk to him; retain him; for me it was the best decisions I could have made, right on the heels of some of the worst decisions of my life.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by Philip 

No better lawyer

I was a client of Health Lynch. Health Lynch and his support staff at Springstead, Bartish & Borgula Law PLLC came highly recommend from out of state law firms. It went to show me that their reputation wasn’t local but over multiple states and I was in good hands. He really cares about his clients and was very detail orientated when preparing for my case and during the trial. From start to finish he was relentless and hard working. Quick response when I left a text, called or emailed him. He helped me get my life back and can’t thank him or the law firm enough.

5.0 stars

Posted by James 

Excellent Attorney

My 17 year old son was being charged with 3rd degree retail fraud, weeks before he was supposed to leave on a school trip to Europe. During his pre-trial conference, he was told he could not leave the state. Knowing we would lose the $5000. we had paid for the trip, I decided we needed advice from an attorney. Heath offered to take on the case, feeling confident my son would be able to leave the country. Immediately I felt a huge burden lifted off my shoulders. We were very naive to the legal system, but Heath, and his legal secretary, Chasity, kept me in the loop with everything going on. Ultimately my son pleaded guilty and received probation, but he was able to leave the country. Heath also advocated for him to participate in the HYTA program, which was approved by the judge. We are extremely grateful for how things turned out. Overall Heath did an amazing job of representing my son. I highly recommend Heath as a compassionate and professional attorney.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous 

When bouncers attack, you want Heath in your corner!

I had to take the time to write an honest review for Heath Lynch and his support staff at Springstead, Bartish & Borgula Law PLLC. Unfortunately I was involved in a late-night incident at a watering hole and par for the course the losers always try to pursue you afterwards. Granted bar fights are not uncommon but the establishment losing one probably is less common. Their bouncer commenced violence followed by other employees and a manager; I quickly ended the threat as I was simply protecting my spouse. We walked away unscathed and were questioned by law enforcement about the incident and found out the establishment would be seeking charges against me. I live out of town and quickly gathered I needed an attorney with experience and clout in Grand Rapids. I performed research on the local firms and got in contact with Heath. I explained my situation and knew it was time to hire Heath. I was on the defending side of two misdemeanor charges and up against a local establishment who was leaning on law enforcement for results.

The ordeal was stressful but after talking with Heath and team, my worries started to take a back seat. Most importantly I was able to get back to my obligations while I knew Heath could handle any new happenings regarding the case. It was well worth the money to have experience and their knowledge on my side. What I appreciated the most about Heath was I told him everything that happened and never had to remind him. He is impeccably diligent with the details, understanding and puts himself in your shoes to truly understand your unique situation. Our conversations felt like I was consulting a good friend, a good friend that also happens to have years of experience on both ends of the spectrum prosecuting and defending criminal cases. Heath handled all my correspondence with the detectives working the case. He was able to gather information I could not. In addition, his staff was lightning fast completing tasks and always available to answer quick questions.

The story ends well, no charges were filed which was our bottom-line goal. I’m sure the other-side wasn’t pleased but they can at least walk away with a free lesson in risk management. At a minimum, call for a consultation, valuable advice from an experienced professional like Heath Lynch will always give you a leg up on your case.

Rating: 5/5

Posted by anonymous